Driver’s License

Who can take away my driver's license? 

Only the State of Tennessee can revoke your driver’s license. Drivers in Tennessee must renew their licenses every five years. When you renew your license, you must take a vision test, and you may be required to take a written or driving test. If you fail any of these tests, you may not be eligible to have your license renewed.

If a doctor or family member becomes concerned about your ability to drive safely, they can request an Unsafe Driver Investigation.


What are the penalties for driving without a valid license? 

Driving without a valid license is a class C misdemeanor and can include up to a $50 fine and/or up to 30 days in jail.

Driving with a suspended, revoked, or canceled license is a class B misdemeanor. Being convicted of this crime can result in up to six months in jail and/or up to a $500 fine.


What can I do to prevent having to stop driving?

If age-related disabilities are making it more difficult to drive safely, modifications to your car or your schedule or the use of other aids may be able to preserve your ability to drive for a while longer.

Healthcare professionals, the Tennessee Driver Services Division, or other resources may recommend ways to ensure you are driving safely. Examples of modifications that may be made can include wearing corrective lenses, driving only during daylight hours, installing wider mirrors, and driving only familiar and simple routes.


How do I know when to stop driving?

Nearly everyone reaches a point in their life when continuing to drive poses too great a risk to themselves and others on the road. Signs that indicate when it is no longer safe for a driver to be on the road include getting lost, having accidents, sideswiping cars while parking, running stoplights and stops signs, stopping at green lights or intersections without stop signs, or getting confused by traffic signals.


How do I request an unsafe driver investigation?

Family members, medical care providers, or police officers can request an Unsafe Driver Investigation. To submit a request for this investigation, write down your concerns and submit them to:

Tennessee Department of Safety

Driver Improvement Section

1150 Foster Avenue

Nashville, TN 37210


What transportation options are available to me? 

If you are no longer able to drive or are uncomfortable driving yourself, there are other transportation options available to keep you as mobile and independent as you can be. You can locate transportation options available to you by visiting our resource page and selecting your county.

Other transportation options may come from your local senior centers, churches, or other community organizations. Asking family and friends for transportation assistance or utilizing delivery services can also help to ensure that you are able to access the things you need when other transportation options are not available. Visit our resources page to find transportation options near you. 

Table of Contents